Navigation
Find
retailers
now

FAQ – Frequently asked questions

Do you have questions about the Merula Cup and are searching for the right answers? We have put together numerous questions with their answers and divided them up into five categories to make it easier for you to find them. Or you can use our search function, which searches through all the questions and answers for your term and then displays the corresponding results.


Can’t find an answer to your question?

Simply fill in our contact form and let us know your concern.

Search topic: Search reset to default

ABOUT USING IT

Can I also insert the Merula Cup when I don’t have my period, to try it out?

Yes, it is possible but can often be difficult as the tissue is often much firmer than when you have your period and the ectocervix is higher.

I can feel a strong pulling sensation / I have severe lower abdominal pain when I am wearing the Merula Cup. Is that normal?

No. When the Merula Cup is correctly positioned, you should hardly be able to feel it. It should not cause an unpleasant feeling and definitely should not cause pain. If the cup feels uncomfortable, it could be that the ectocervix is not correctly positioned inside the cup, or the stem is too long and is causing irritation at the entrance to the vagina.

If this is the case, try to correct the position, or adapt the stem according to the instructions. Allow yourself enough time to take breaks while searching for the correct position, and do not rush. A practice phase of 1 to 4 cycles is not at all uncommon.

If, in spite of all your efforts, you are still unable to insert the Merula Cup in a comfortable and leak-proof position, do not hesitate to get in touch with us or your retailer!

The Merula Cup is not leak-proof. When I take it out, most of the blood is outside on one side. What am I doing wrong?

In this case, the ectocervix is not correctly positioned inside the cup (see here). Locate where your ectocervix is currently positioned by touch before inserting and try to maneuver your Merula Cup in this direction. Rotating the cup (“screwing”) while pushing down with your pelvic floor at the same time often helps to position the ectocervix inside the cup.

If the cup can be easily inserted and is also not easy to get out again, it is highly likely that the cup is correctly positioned.

Am I allowed to have sexual intercourse with the Merula Cup?

Vaginal penetration may lead to risk of injury. The cup should definitely be taken out beforehand.

Can I pull out the Merula Cup by its stem?

The Merula Cup must not be pulled out by the stem before the slight vacuum is released. By gently pulling on the stem using “zig-zag” movements, the Merula Cup can be carefully pulled down far enough that it just comes into reach of a finger. The Merula Cup is now held by the stem and the vacuum is released by pinching the cup with a finger. The cup can then be easily removed.

Can I wear the Merula Cup longer than 12 hours?

No. Because significantly less oxygen enters the menstrual blood that flows out and the Merula Cup’s medical-grade silicone is not conducive to bacteria, multiplication of dangerous bacteria is significantly slower than with a tampon, for example. Nevertheless, this process is not entirely eliminated. Conscientious hygiene and regular cleaning of the cup are essential to minimize the risk of toxic shock syndrome (TSS – What is “TSS”?), which can be life threatening.

Can I play sports or go swimming with the Merula Cup?

The Merula Cup is particularly suitable for all types of sport and remains securely in place even when a lot of strain is put on the pelvic floor muscles. It is also an optimal solution in/on water as no blood can leak out and enter the water.

ABOUT CLEANING

Can I clean the Merula Cup in the dishwasher?

No. Dishwashing agents are too harsh and damaging to the material of the cup. Moreover, potential dishwashing agents and perfume residues should not enter the vagina. The same applies to washing machines and detergents.

What’s the right way to clean the Merula Cup?
Do I have to boil the Merula Cup every time I change/empty it?

No, it is sufficient if during your period you thoroughly wash the Merula Cup under running water after emptying. It is only necessary to boil it once after each time you have your period.

My Merula Cup has become slightly discolored; what caused that?

Hemoglobin, which gives blood its red color, has a strong staining effect. The cup may discolor over time even with thorough and regular cleaning. However, this is not a cause for concern if the cup is regularly boiled.

What should I do if I have a vaginal yeast infection / can I use the Merula Cup if I have a vaginal yeast infection?

We recommend that you switch over to using disposable articles when you have an infection. If you have nevertheless used your Merula Cup during this period of time, it should optimally be professionally autoclaved. For domestic use, you can boil the cup in rapidly boiling water three times for 20 minutes with a squirt of vinegar / citric acid. Leave to air dry for several hours between the boiling sessions. This will, however, put stress on the material of the cup and possibly shorten its lifespan.

What should I do if I don’t have a wash basin close by to clean the Merula Cup?

Empty the contents of the Merula Cup into the toilet. Wipe it down with some toilet paper or a paper towel if necessary, and then insert it again. It should then be thoroughly cleaned with water at the next opportunity; at the latest 12 hours after the last time it was cleaned.

ABOUT THE SIZES

Does the Merula Cup come in different sizes / What is the difference between the Merula Cup and the Merula Cup XL?

The Merula Cup is available in two sizes: “one size” and XL (extra-large).

The Merula Cup “one size” has been especially developed in a standard size to fit every women. If it is too long for you, you can simply remove one or two rungs using nail scissors. Thanks to the round shape, the width of the cup will individually adapt to your needs.

The Merula Cup XL was developed for women with particularly heavy bleeding. With its two-level rungs, it can be adapted to a medium or large capacity. Should your cervix be exceptionally low or if you feel your vagina is exceptionally “tight”, then the Merula Cup XL may be too large for you.

All Merula Cups have the same degree of hardness. The Merula Cup has been specially designed to be securely held by the pelvic floor muscles and not leak.

Is the Merula Cup really so large?

You fold the Merula Cup before inserting it. There are various folding techniques for this. It is scarcely larger than a tampon. However, due to its surface, it can be more easily and more comfortably inserted than a tampon. The Merula Cup “one size” can be worn by young girls of 12 or 13 through to women shortly before menopause.

Can I trim all three rungs of my Merula Cup „one size“, or both rungs of my Merula Cup XL?

We can’t recommend this as it would then be too difficult to remove the Merula Cup.

Will the Merula Cup XL fit any woman?

Women with a low-positioned cervix may find the Merula Cup XL to be too long. Women with an especially narrow vaginal canal may find the Merula Cup XL’s slightly larger diameter to be uncomfortable. In these cases, we recommend the Merula Cup “one size”.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Why does the Merula Cup come in different colors?

Simply because we find a variety of colors great and everyone has a personal favorite color. 🙂

Are the colors safe?

All the colorants we use are certified and dispersed permanently within the silicone.

What material is the Merula Cup made of?

The Merula Cup is made of 100% certified medical-grade silicone. We use material that is also used for temporary implants. It is also free of plasticizers, Bisphenol A (BPA) and animal-based ingredients.

Where is the Merula Cup manufactured?

The Merula Cup is produced exclusively in Germany.

Why doesn’t the Merula Cup have any small holes on the upper edge like many other menstrual cups?

The small holes in the upper edge of many menstrual cups make it easier to introduce air into the cup while inserting it so that it folds out more easily. The Merula Cup does not have these small holes, but it also does not necessarily need to completely unfold. Not incorporating these holes ensures that the Merula Cup is held in place by the pelvic floor muscles in every situation and does not dislodge or leak even when it is fully unfolded (e.g. in the morning, after getting up). Also, for some women, water can enter the cup through the small holes while bathing or swimming, meaning it needs to be emptied shortly afterwards so that it does not overfill. This can’t happen with the Merula Cup.

We strongly recommend you do not add “air holes” to the Merula Cup by yourself. This will impair its effectiveness.

I wear a coil/mini IUD/pearls. Can I still wear the Merula Cup? What do I need to take into consideration here?

The slight vacuum while wearing the Merula Cup cannot influence a coil that has been well positioned. Even when pulling out the cup, this pulling motion should only affect the ectocervix, but not the thread inside it. Nevertheless, it is important that the vacuum is always carefully released before the cup is removed. Moreover, when removing the cup, it is important to take care that the thread of the coil/mini IUD/pearls is not gripped at the same time and manually pulled out.

Please note that coils, mini IUDs or pearls can be expelled by the body during the initial months of wearing them, completely independent of what type of monthly hygiene articles are used. By nature, this type of expulsion generally occurs during menstruation.

How is the Merula Cup different from the majority of other menstrual cups?

See here

What advantages does the Merula Cup offer compared to tampons and sanitary napkins?

See here

Where can I buy the Merula Cup?

You can buy them in local stores as well as in a wide range of online shops.

MISCELLANEOUS

Can a menstrual cup tear the virginal membrane (hymen)?

Yes, in principle this is possible. However, the hymen can also tear on its own, for example during sports, or it may be only very weak to begin with. On the other hand, for some women, the hymen may remain intact until a natural birth.

Can I also buy those great pouches individually?

No, unfortunately that’s not possible.

What is the difference between the cervix, ectocervix and the cervical os?

The cervix (/neck of the uterus) is the opening of the uterus into the vagina. The front part of the cervix which protrudes into the vagina is called the ectocervix (Latin for “the part”) and is generally round or cone-shaped. It normally varies from women to women from between the size of a cherry to that of a walnut. The small opening in the ectocervix out of which menstrual fluid flows during the period is called the (outer) cervical os.

What is “toxic shock syndrome” (TSS) and what are the symptoms?

See here

Why is there a dark spot on the upper edge of my Merula Cup XL?

On this spot, the silicone color mixture is injected through a very small opening into the casting mold. The color pigments come in different sizes. The biggest particles may accumulate during the injection, and at the end of the process they are pushed into the mold and result in a color spot. The color spot has no influence on the functionality of the cup.

„Finally, no more pain thanks to Merula! I can almost forget about my period.“

Antje G. (30)

„Before I had the Merula Cup, I had to get up three to four times at night on heavy days. Now I can sleep easy even on the heaviest days!“

Barbara S. (30)

„Bike riding, sauna, fitness center, swimming pool are all possible now without any problems, even on my heaviest days.“

Conny B. (39)

„After four births, my period got heavier each time and I was plagued by cramps. I don’t have any cramps anymore and I feel free again.“

Janine K. (29)

„Finally a cup that can handle my very strong pelvic floor but still can’t be felt at all.“

Alexandra M. (33)

„If only I had known about Merula earlier. I would have been able to save myself so much frustration, pain and money.“

Sonja R. (37)

„Finally I can relax when I’m horseback riding during my period, without tampons or sanitary napkins compromising my seat. You simply don’t feel anything with the Merula.“

Ksenia S. (22)

„Before I had the Merula Cup, I was really restricted by my heavy period.” But now I can now conquer every day, even when I have my period!“

Lea K. (19)

„What a shame that I had to get to this age before I discovered this fantastic type of monthly hygiene article.“

Petra W. (45)

„The Merula makes it possible to last the whole school day without having to worry.“

Chiara W. (17)

„Finally I can go swimming and riding during my period.“

Michaela F. (14)

„I regularly do strength training with heavy weights. The Merula is true to its promise even here – there are never any leaks.“

Nikola L. (36)

„Thanks to the size, you don’t have to worry about changing it and you can enjoy life.“

Ingrid M. (24)

„If I didn’t have to empty the Merula, I would completely forget that I had my period. No longer any need to worry something could go wrong.“

Lorena B. (27)

„I always had severe abdominal pain when I had my period. Since I have been using the Merula, I sometimes don’t even notice that I have my period.“

Carina S. (28)

„Before, menstruation ruled my daily life. Now I’m in charge of my life again, thanks to Merula.“

Christiane N. (28)

„I have to set an alarm to change, otherwise I would simply forget that I had my period.“

Johanna L. (20)

„After three natural births and extremely heavy bleeding, I’m no longer restricted in any situation, thanks to Merula! Even riding a bike for hours, as part of my job, is no longer a problem!“

Kathrin K. (34)

„I’ve only recently started using the Merula Cup. If I had have known how uncomplicated it was, I would have switched much earlier!“

Nina R. (34)

„Thanks to Merula, I don’t have to look for a restroom every two hours from even the most absorbent tampons letting me down.“

Sana M. (38)

„I had never been 100% satisfied with a cup until I discovered Merula.“

Sheena M. (24)

„The Merula still fits perfectly even after three natural births. No leaks – no unpleasant feeling!“

Ramona S. (27)

Navigation

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen

Du hast Fragen zum Merula Cup und suchst die passenden Antworten? Wir haben eine Vielzahl an Fragen mit den dazugehörigen Antworten zusammengestellt und diese in fünf Kategorien unterteilt, damit Du sie noch einfacher finden kannst. Oder Du verwendest unsere Suchfunktion, die alle Fragen und Antworten nach Deinem Begriff durchsucht und dir die passenden Ergebnisse anzeigt.

 

Thema suchen: Suchen Zurücksetzen

ZUR ANWENDUNG

Kann ich den Merula Cup auch außerhalb meiner Periode zum Probieren einsetzen?

Ja, dies ist möglich, jedoch oft schwieriger, da das Gewebe außerhalb der Periode oft deutlich fester ist und die Portio höher sitzt.

Ich spüre ein starkes Ziehen / habe starke Unterleibsschmerzen, wenn ich den Merula Cup in mir trage. Ist das normal?

Nein. Wenn der Merula Cup korrekt platziert ist, sollte er praktisch nicht zu spüren sein. Er sollte kein unangenehmes Gefühl auslösen und auf keinen Fall Schmerzen verursachen. Ist der Cup unangenehm zu spüren, könnte es sein, dass die Portio nicht korrekt innerhalb des Cups sitzt oder z.B. die Leiter zu lang ist und am Scheideneingang Irritationen hervorruft.

Versuche in diesem Fall, die Position zu korrigieren, bzw. die Leiter, entsprechend der Anleitung, anzupassen. Auf der Suche nach der richtigen Position solltest du ausreichend Pausen einlegen und dir Zeit lassen. Eine Übungsphase von 1-4 Zyklen ist durchaus nicht ungewöhnlich.

Solltest du, trotz deiner Bemühungen, den Merula Cup nicht in eine bequeme und dichte Position bringen können, scheue dich nicht, uns oder deinen Händler zu kontaktieren!

Der Merula Cup ist nicht dicht. Wenn ich ihn entnehme, ist das meiste Blut an einer Seite außen. Was mache ich falsch?

Die Portio sitzt in diesem Fall nicht korrekt innerhalb des Cups (siehe hier). Taste vor dem Einsetzen, wo sich deine Portio aktuell befindet und versuche deinen Merula Cup in diese Richtung zu manövrieren. Das Drehen des Cups („schrauben“), während man gleichzeitig mit dem Beckenboden herunter presst, hilft oft, die Portio in den Cup einzuführen.

Lässt sich der Cup innerlich recht einfach drehen und gleichzeitig nicht einfach wieder herausziehen, sitzt der Cup mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit richtig.

Darf ich mit dem Merula Cup Geschlechtsverkehr/Sex haben?

Bei der vaginalen Penetration besteht Verletzungsgefahr. Hier sollte der Cup auf jeden Fall zuvor entnommen werden.

Darf ich den Merula Cup an der Leiter herausziehen?

Der Merula Cup darf nicht an der Leiter herausgezogen werden, bevor der bestehende leichte Unterdruck gelöst wurde. Durch einen sanften Zug an der Leiter, mit „zick-zack“-Bewegungen, kann der Merula Cup vorsichtig so weit heruntergezogen werden, dass er gerade so in erreichbare Nähe eines Fingers rückt. Nun wird der Merula Cup an der Leiter fixiert und der Unterdruck, durch beherztes Eindrücken des Cups mit einem Finger, gelöst. Anschließend kann der Cup leicht entnommen werden.

Darf ich den Merula Cup auch länger als 12 Stunden tragen?

Nein. Da durch den Merula Cup deutlich weniger Sauerstoff an das ausgestoßene Menstruationsblut gelangt und das medizinische Silikon, aus dem der Merula Cup besteht, eine bakterienunfreundliche Oberfläche darstellt, findet eine Vermehrung gefährlicher Bakterien deutlich langsamer statt als beispielsweise auf einem Tampon. Dennoch ist dieser Vorgang nicht gänzlich unterdrückt. Gewissenhafte Hygiene und regelmäßiges Reinigen des Cups sind unbedingt nötig, um die Gefahr eines Toxischen Schock Syndroms (TSS – Was ist „TSS“?), welches lebensgefährlich ist, zu minimieren.

Kann ich mit dem Merula Cup Sport machen oder schwimmen gehen?

Der Merula Cup eignet sich sogar besonders gut für alle Arten von Sport und bleibt auch bei starker Anspannung der Beckenbodenmuskulatur sicher an Ort und Stelle. Auch im/unter Wasser ist er die optimale Lösung, da kein Blut hinauslaufen und kein Wasser hereinlaufen kann.

ZUR REINIGUNG

Darf ich den Merula Cup in der Spülmaschine reinigen?

Nein. Spülmaschinenreiniger strapazieren das Material des Cups sehr stark. Zudem sollten mögliche Spülmaschinenreinigerrückstände und Parfümstoffe nicht in die Scheide gelangen. Gleiches gilt auch für die Waschmaschine, bzw. Waschmittel.

Wie reinige ich den Merula Cup richtig?

Die Antwort findest du unter So funktioniert’s

Muss ich den Merula Cup nach jedem Wechseln/Entleeren auskochen?

Nein, es reicht aus, wenn der Merula Cup während der Periode, nach dem Entleeren, gründlich unter fließendem Wasser abgewaschen wird. Das Abkochen ist nur einmalig nach jeder Periode notwendig.

Mein Merula Cup hat sich etwas verfärbt, wie kommt das?

Hämoglobin, der Farbstoff im Blut, färbt extrem stark. Selbst bei gründlicher und regelmäßiger Reinigung kann sich ein Cup mit der Zeit verfärben. Wird der Cup regelmäßig ausgekocht, ist dies jedoch unbedenklich.

Was sollte ich berücksichtigen, wenn ich Scheidenpilz habe / Darf ich den Merula Cup verwenden, sollte ich Scheidenpilz haben?

Wir empfehlen bei einer Infektion auf Einwegartikel umzusteigen. Solltest du deinen Merula Cup dennoch in dieser Zeit verwendet haben, sollte er optimalerweise professionell autoklaviert werden. Für den Hausgebrauch kannst du den Cup auch 3 Mal je 20 Minuten in Wasser, mit einem Spritzer Essig / Zitronensäure, sprudelnd kochen und zwischen jedem Kochvorgang mehrere Stunden an der Luft trocken lassen. Allerdings strapaziert dies das Material des Cups und verkürzt womöglich seine Lebensdauer.

Was mache ich, wenn ich mal kein Waschbecken zum Reinigen des Merula Cup in der Nähe habe?

Entleere den Merula Cup in die Toilette. Falls nötig wische ihn mit etwas Toilettenpapier oder einem Papiertuch aus und setze ihn wieder ein. Du solltest den Cup aber bei nächster Gelegenheit, jedoch spätestens 12 Stunden nach der letzen Reinigung mit Wasser, gründlich säubern.

ZUR GRÖßE

Gibt es den Merula Cup in verschiedenen Größen / Was ist der Unterschied zwischen dem Merula Cup und dem Merula Cup XL?

Den Merula Cup gibt es in zwei verschiedenen Größen: „one size“ (Einheitsgröße) und XL (extra groß).

Der Merula Cup „one size“ wurde extra in einer Einheitsgröße entwickelt, damit er jeder Frau passen kann. Wenn er dir zu lang ist, kannst du eine oder zwei Sprossen einfach mit einer Nagelschere entfernen. Die Breite des Cups, passt sich durch die Kugelform individuell den Bedürfnissen an.

Der Merula Cup XL wurde für Frauen mit besonders starker Blutung entwickelt. Mit seinen beiden Leitersprossen, kann er an einen mittleren bzw. hohen Portiostand angepasst werden. Sollte Deine Portio besonders tief sitzen oder Du Deine Scheide als besonders „eng“ empfinden, könnte der Merula Cup XL möglicherweise zu groß für dich sein.

Alle Merula Cups haben den gleichen Härtegrad. Der Merula Cup wurde speziell so konzipiert, um bei jedem Zustand der Beckenbodenmuskulatur sicher zu halten und dicht zu bleiben.

Ist der Merula Cup wirklich so groß?

Den Merula Cup faltest du vor dem Einführen zusammen, hierfür gibt es verschiedene Falttechniken, dann ist er kaum größer als ein großer Tampon. Er lässt sich auf Grund seiner Oberfläche allerdings viel leichter und angenehmer einführen als ein Tampon. Der Merula Cup „one size“ wird von jungen Mädchen im Alter von 12/13 Jahren getragen bis hin zu Frauen, die kurz vor den Wechseljahren stehen.

Darf ich alle drei Leitersprossen meines Merula Cup „one size“ kürzen, bzw. beide Leitersprossen meines Merula Cup XL?

Dies können wir nicht empfehlen, da es sonst schwer werden kann, den Merula Cup zu entfernen.

Kann der Merula Cup XL auch jeder Frau passen?

Frauen mit besonders tiefsitzender Portio könnte der Merula Cup XL zu lang sein. Frauen, die ihre Scheide als besonders „eng“ empfinden, könnte der Randdurchmesser des Merula Cup XL womöglich zu groß sein. In diesem Fall empfehlen wir den Merula Cup „one size“.

ALLGEMEINES

Warum gibt es den Merula Cup in verschiedenen Farben?

Weil wir die bunte Vielfalt einfach toll finden und jeder eine andere Lieblingsfarbe hat. 🙂

Sind die Farben unbedenklich?

Alle eingesetzten Farbstoffe sind zertifiziert und fest mit dem Silikon verbunden.

Aus welchem Material besteht der Merula Cup?

Der Merula Cup wird aus 100 % zertifiziertem medizinischen Silikon hergestellt. Wir verwenden Material, das sogar für Kurzzeitimplantate angewandt wird. Es ist zudem frei von Weichmachern und tierischen Inhaltsstoffen.

Wo wird der Merula Cup hergestellt?

Der Merula Cup wird ausschließlich in Deutschland produziert.

Warum hat der Merula Cup im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Menstruationstassen keine kleinen Löcher am oberen Rand?

Die kleinen Löcher am oberen Rand von vielen Menstruationstassen erleichtern einen Lufteinlass in den Cup während des Einsetzens, so dass dieser sich leichter entfalten kann. Der Merula Cup hat diese kleinen Löcher nicht, muss sich aber auch nicht zwangsläufig voll entfalten. Durch den Verzicht auf diese Löcher ist gewährleistet, dass der Merula Cup bei jedem Zustand der Beckenbodenmuskulatur hält und auch nach völliger Entspannung (z.B. morgens nach dem Aufstehen) seinen Halt nicht verliert und dicht bleibt. Bei vielen Frauen läuft zudem beim Baden oder Schwimmen Wasser durch die kleinen Löcher in den Cup hinein, woraufhin dieser zeitnah geleert werden muss, um nicht überzulaufen. Beim Merula Cup kann dies nicht passieren.

Wir raten unbedingt davon ab, dem Merula Cup eigenhändig „Luftlöcher“ zuzufügen. Dies würde seine Funktion beeinträchtigen.

Ich trage eine/n Spirale/Kette/Ball. Kann ich trotzdem den Merula Cup verwenden? Was gibt es dabei zu beachten?

Der leichte Unterdruck, während des Tragens des Merula Cup, kann eine gut sitzende Spirale nicht beeinflussen. Selbst beim Zug am Cup sollte der Sog lediglich auf die Portio wirken, nicht aber auf den darin liegenden Faden. Dennoch sollte grundsätzlich immer der Unterdruck vor der Entnahme des Cups sorgfältig gelöst werden. Zudem sollte beim Entfernen des Cups darauf geachtet werden, dass man nicht versehentlich den Faden der/des Spirale/Kupferkette/Kupferballs mit greift und diese/n manuell herauszieht.
Bitte denke daran, dass Spiralen, Ketten oder Bälle, besonders in den ersten Tragemonaten, vom Körper abgestoßen werden können, völlig unabhängig von der Art der Monatshygiene. Naturbedingt findet eine solche Abstoßung meist während der Periode statt.

Was unterscheidet den Merula Cup von den meisten anderen Menstruationstassen?

Siehe hier

Welche Vorteile hat der Merula Cup gegenüber Tampons oder Binden?

Infos gibt’s hier

Wo kann ich den Merula Cup kaufen?

Du erhältst ihn sowohl in Geschäften vor Ort als auch in einer Vielzahl an Online-Shops.

SONSTIGES

Kann das Jungfernhäutchen (Hymen) durch eine Menstruationstasse reißen?

Ja, dies ist grundsätzlich möglich. Allerdings kann das Hymen auch z.B. beim Sport einreißen oder von vornherein nur sehr schwach ausgeprägt sein. Bei manchen Frauen bleibt das Hymen hingegen intakt bis z.B. zu einer Spontangeburt.

Kann ich die tollen Beutelchen auch einzeln kaufen?

Nein, das ist leider nicht möglich.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Cervix, Portio und Muttermund?

Mit Cervix (/Zervix/Gebärmutterhals) bezeichnet man den Ausgang der Gebärmutter (Uterus) in die Scheide. Der vordere Teil der Cervix, der in die Scheide hineinragt, nennt sich Portio (lat. „Der Abschnitt“) und ist meist rund oder zapfenförmig. Sie variiert von Frau zu Frau normalerweise zwischen Kirsch- und Walnussgröße. Die kleine Öffnung in der Portio, aus der die Menstruationsflüssigkeit während der Periode austritt, nennt sich (äußerer) Muttermund.

Was bedeutet „Toxisches Schock-Syndrom“ (TSS) und was sind die Anzeichen?
Warum ist auf meinem Merula Cup XL am oberen Rand ein dunkler Punkt zu sehen?

An diesem Punkt wird die Silikon-Farb-Mischung durch eine sehr kleine Öffnung in die Gussform eingespritzt. Die einzelnen Farbpigmente haben unterschiedliche Größen. Die größeren Partikel können sich beim Einspritzen stauen, dann am Ende des Vorgangs mit Nachdruck in die Form geschoben werden und diesen farbintensiveren Punkt ergeben. Der Farbpunkt hat keinen Einfluss auf die Funktionalität des Cups.

„Wäre mir die Merula doch nur schon früher bekannt gewesen. Ich hätte mir so viel Frust, Schmerzen und Geld sparen können.“

Sonja R. (37)

„Dank Merula muss ich nicht mehr im 2 Stunden Takt ein WC aufsuchen, weil selbst die stärksten Tampons versagt haben.“

Sana M. (38)

„Bevor ich den Merula Cup hatte, musste ich an den starken Tagen 3-4 Mal in der Nacht raus. Jetzt kann ich auch an den stärksten Tagen beruhigt durchschlafen!“

Barbara S. (30)

„Früher hat die Menstruation meinen Alltag bestimmt. Jetzt bestimme ich, dank der Merula, wieder mein Leben.“

Christiane N. (28)

„Nach 4 Geburten wurde meine Periode von Mal zu Mal stärker und ich wurde von Krämpfen geplagt. Mit der Merula habe ich keine Krämpfe mehr und ich fühle mich wieder frei.“

Janine K. (29)

„Endlich eine Tasse, die mit meinem sehr starken Beckenboden fertig wird und trotzdem überhaupt nicht zu spüren ist.“

Alexandra M. (33)

„Nach 3 Spontangeburten und extrem starker Blutung bin ich dank der Merula in keiner Situation mehr eingeschränkt! Auch Stundenlanges berufsbedingtes Fahrradfahren ist überhaupt kein Problem mehr!“

Kathrin K. (34)

„Bevor ich den Merula Cup hatte, war ich auf Grund meiner starken Periode sehr eingeschränkt. Dank ihr kann ich nun den Alltag auch während meiner Periode bewältigen!“

Lea K. (19)

„Meine Periode war immer mit starken Unterleibsschmerzen verbunden. Seit ich die Merula benutze, merke ich manchmal nicht mal mehr, dass ich meine Tage habe.“

Carina S. (28)

„Müsste ich die Merula nicht leeren, würde ich ganz vergessen, dass ich meine Tage habe. Schluss mit der Angst, dass was daneben geht.“

Lorena B. (27)

„Dank der Merula endlich keine Schmerzen mehr! Die Periode ist damit fast vergessen.“

Antje G. (30)

„Ich nutze die Merula Cup erst seit kurzem. Hätte ich gewusst wie unkompliziert das ist, wäre ich schon früher darauf umgestiegen!“

Nina R. (34)

„Endlich wieder Schwimmen und Reiten während meiner Periode.“

Michaela F. (14)

„Radfahren, Sauna, Fitnesscenter, Schwimmbad geht jetzt endlich wieder unbeschwert, auch an meinen starken Tagen.“

Conny B. (39)

„Die Merula macht es mir möglich ohne Sorge den ganzen Schultag zu überstehen“

Chiara W. (17)

„Endlich kann ich während meiner Periode entspannt reiten, ohne dass Tampons oder Binden meinen Sitz behindern. Man fühlt die Merula einfach nicht.“

Ksenia S. (22)

„Auch nach 3 spontanen Geburten sitzt die Merula super. Kein Auslaufen - kein unangenehmes Gefühl!“

Ramona S. (27)

„Ich war nie 100%ig mit einem Cup zufrieden, bis ich die Merula entdeckt habe.“

Sheena M. (24)

„Ich betreibe regelmäßig Krafttraining mit hohen Gewichten. Auch hier hält die Merula, was sie verspricht, es geht nämlich nichts daneben.“

Nikola L. (36)

„Dank des großen Volumens muss man sich keine Gedanken über das Wechseln machen und kann das Leben genießen.“

Ingrid M. (24)

„Ich muss mir zum Wechseln den Wecker stellen, sonst würde ich schlichtweg vergessen, dass ich meine Tage habe.“

Johanna L. (20)

„Schade, dass ich so alt werden musste um diese tolle Art der Monatshygiene zu entdecken.“

Petra W. (45)

„Müsste ich die Merula nicht leeren, würde ich ganz vergessen, dass ich meine Tage habe. Schluss mit der Angst, dass was daneben geht.“

Lorena B. (27)